I’m Sane. The NRA Makes Me Want to Kill Someone.

Okay, this is off the cuff.  I just heard something so outrageous that I’m simply going to react.  I’m not going to over think it, philosophize about it or edit it.  I’m just going to react.

The National Rifle Association has broken its silence about the massacre in Connecticut.

The NRA should just shut the fuck up.  They should hold their entitlement filled, backward-ass meetings in Old Jimmy’s basement where they can smoke more crack and clean their guns and figure out world peace.   And they should never be given a public voice.

Because according to the NRA the best way to prevent gun violence is to give out more guns.  That’s right.  How did the spokesperson put it, whose name I never care to know?

“The only thing that stops a bad guy with a gun is a good guy with a gun,” and the equally dumbfounding, “I call on Congress today to act immediately, to appropriate whatever is necessary to put armed police officers in every school — and to do it now.”

Okay, dumb ass.  And who are the good guys again?

The U.S. Army major that killed 13 people on the Fort Hood army base?

The two high school students from Columbine?

The security guard that killed three of his colleagues in Alberta, Canada?

The neuroscience student attending the University of Colorado who went to a Batman movie one fateful night?

How do you purport to know who is “good”?

How do you know who isn’t one more bad experience away from losing it and turning to their gun?  How do you know who is and who isn’t in a desperate situation and seeing murder as the only solution?  How do you know which one of the police officers you wish to put in schools is battling personal problems and about to have a really bad day?

In short, what the hell are you talking about?  How the hell do you know who the “good guy” is?

When one of your “good guys” loses it and uses his/her gun for bad, then what?  We just file it under “isolated incident” and find a replacement good guy, as endorsed by the NRA?

What about when the “good guy” police officer accidentally shoots and kills a child at school while trying to take a shot at the “bad guy?”  Is that child our sacrificial lamb?  Our NRA hero?

I’m just as insignificant as the NRA asshole, but since we’re all making calls what the hell.  Here’s what I “call on.”

I call on humanity.  I call on common sense.  I call on peace.  I call on wisdom.   I call on freedom.  Not armed freedom because that’s false freedom.  Freedom from arms.  And I call for help.

I want help to eradicate guns.  I want help to eradicate the messed up, disgusting, horrible thinking of those that believe arming ANYONE is the way to regulate the few (impactful as they are) who choose to use a gun to kill innocent people.  I want help to crush the cult of entitlement around guns and the “right” to bear arms.    I want help in confronting this sick NRA individual who leads an army of assholes.

Because when it all boils down to it, it’s the members of the NRA and their combined inability to comprehend their contribution to this tragedy that I’m most afraid of.

 

8 thoughts on “I’m Sane. The NRA Makes Me Want to Kill Someone.

  1. Thank you! This was my reaction as well, but I would have dropped a lot more F-bombs in my posting – hence my need to refrain. My rants pretty much run out of control when it comes to this issue. Thanks again.

  2. Thank you! Couldn’t have said it better myself. I think the NRA is merely a front, a shill, for the gun and bullet manufacturers. More guns means more money for the NRA Board, all of whom own or partly own said manufacturers.

  3. The fact that you can stop in at your local Walmart and pick up toilet paper, dog food, and an assault weapon of mass destruction is insane. Arming the entire country’s schools with gun toting “good guys” is insane. What reality do the NRA pretend to live in? It’s shocking.

  4. Wow. Thanks for all the emotional, knee jerk, valueless comment. The NRA is NOT the problem children. ONE good person with a gun stops the whole thing. Connecticut HAS an assault weapons ban. What’s your SOLUTION? And NO you can’t buy an assault weapon at Walmart….what the hell IS an assault weapon anyway? Has that term ever really been defined, by anyone? Every weapon is an assault weapon!! And FYI, an ARMED civilian at Ft. Hood STOPPED the carnage. Who the hell ARE you people?

    • Thanks for your comment.

      Interesting that you take issue with me having an emotional reaction to the event, and that this makes my opinion valueless.

      If we could get the NRA to channel their emotional focus toward human beings instead of toward an interpretation of the “right to bear arms,” things could get a whole lot better. I’m prepared back that as a solution vs. arming unpredictable GOOD guys with guns.

Hit it....

