The Outsider – Friday Fictioneers, Sept. 6/13

Friday Fictioneers is sponsored by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields.  The idea is to write a 100 word story with a beginning, middle and end based on the photo prompt.

Photo copyright: Rochelle Wisoff-Fields

*It feels good to be back!  This week I was drawn to the one object that didn’t make it into the multiple shelves – a loner above all the wonderful, eclectic mix.  I look forward to getting back into the swing of things here at FF.  Hope you all had a great summer.

IAAM

The Outsider

(100 words)

Clara,

I feel heavy.  So heavy.  You’ve tried and tried to keep me up but I keep sinking back down.  The guilt of dragging you down weighs heavy.  You don’t deserve to sink with me. No one does.  I think I tried to fight it, this darkness.  I tried to reach the light that you so easily saw.  I don’t have the constitution to see that buoyant beauty.  Despite you by my side, despite your tireless encouragement, I feel different.  Always isolated.  I feel like a rock, sitting atop a plethora of wonder, incapable of fitting in.

I’m sorry.

David

19 thoughts on “The Outsider – Friday Fictioneers, Sept. 6/13

  1. Dear Denmother,

    Welcome back. That was a unique take in an unexpected direction. When I took the picture I didn’t even think about the rock on top of the box. Your story puts me in mind of Simone and Garfunkel’s “I am a Rock”. Nice one.

    shalom,

    Rochelle

  2. That poor rock at the top of the shelf. Very well done. Perhaps all that potential energy will turn into kinetic energy if he finally falls for Clara. Love this line ” I don’t have the constitution to see that buoyant beauty. ” Brilliant.

    Tom

  3. Very sad. I hope Clara tries again, otherwise I fear for David. Very well written – I’ve all these questions spinning round in my head now, wanting to know about the relationshup, why it’s come to this etc.

Hit it....

