Keep Your Friends Close, Your Enemies Closer

How is it that my thirteen-year-old daughter’s friend just walked into the house with boots nicer than anything I own?  This child had on these suede, knee-high, brushed grey, chunky heeled boots with a buckle and zipper that were to die for.

The story is that her mom is doing some work for Holt Renfrew and takes advantage of the 50% off deal offered to her.  Hmm.  Is Lady Gaga right?  Are people just born this way?

OR THIS WAY?

How does the lottery work exactly?

I’d be lying if I said that I didn’t feel a little deflated as a queen cougar and all.  Competing with smooth, booby 20 year-olds is challenge enough.  Thirteen year olds?  COME ON!  This has got to be some kind of cosmic joke.

That’s it.  I’m going to Holt’s tonight.  My mom’s retired and the only thing she gets 50% off of is stuff at the drugstore on Senior’s Day.  I’m prepared to pay full price for those same damn boots and I’m going to rock the hell out of them.  Then I’m going to get up on Monday morning and go to work in my sensible flats to start paying back the old credit card.  I know we cougars make it look easy, but I tell you, we work hard!

12 thoughts on “Keep Your Friends Close, Your Enemies Closer

  1. I hope you did indeed get them and rocked the hell out of them! Was at the market today and noticed a pleasant looking 60 year old checking me out. That’s it – I thought – that’s my demographics now….forget competing with 13 year olds….

Hit it....

